MustLovePringles

everything that’s in my head all day, all spilled out

2010 January 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mustlovepringles @ 2:09 am

In January, I learned that stressing over the inevitable is just not worth it. Speaking up for yourself, however, is, even though it can lead to stress.

In February, I learned that sometimes a well-deserved reward comes with an unexpected punishment (or just not so good side story). Nothing ever comes free. I also learned that having a dog can result in the the purest love in the world. =)

In March, I learned that things don’t cave in unless you allow them to cave in, generally speaking. It’s all a matter of perception. That said, things caved just a touch, but then we pushed them back up.

In April, I learned that I can be a rock. I can also be an island, but I’m a crappy island- I like people too much to be a good island.

In May, I celebrated a year of trials, tribulations and a lot of happiness and love, and we got a sweet reward that put everything back on track.

In June, I learned that it can be really, really painful to watch others pursue your unpursued dreams, but that pain can affirm all the right reasons why you’re on the path you’ve chosen.

In July, I hit a wall of exhaustion. I climbed it, I moved on, because that’s just what you have to do sometimes.

In August, I took on a long-term challenge that terrified me. I’ll let you know when it ends. It feels like it never will, but I know I’ll get there eventually.

In September, I grew to appreciate more than ever exactly how amazingly supportive and loving my family and friends are.

In October, I don’t even know what I did but lose a work-life-school balance and instead came down squarely on the side of school. Midterms suck.

In November, I officially entered my late twenties as an overall lucky girl who needs to learn to calm down more. I also vowed to be in better shape by 28. I’ve worked out precisely once since that day, just so you know how that’s going.

In December, I finally stopped to breathe. I took time to SLEEP, to finally get a very long overdue cold, to snuggle with my dog and with my nieces and my husband, to enjoy my families, and to try to renew my appreciation for all of them. And I decided to try to make an effort to make each month a little bit more like December. So far, so good.

And in 2010, I ended the year knowing that my husband and I can weather anything together, that I’m so so very lucky to be surrounded by the family I was given and the friend family I have chosen, and that I am never going to be able to be everything to everyone and make everyone happy. So I’m going to try really hard to focus on the ones who matter to me most, and work on making 2011 beautiful and full of love for them and for me.

We’ll take a cup of kindness yet for auld lang syne. =)

 

 

2 Responses to “2010”

  1. Mary Says:

    Hey stranger! This is a great “recap” post and I’m glad to hear that your year ended on a positive note :). I look forward to hearing more about what’s going on with you – I’m looking to plan a visit to your town soon, maybe we can get together and catch up!

  2. christa Says:

    awww i like this post!
    can we please please get together soon? miss you and haven’t even seen you yet!


Leave a Reply

